Features of academic writing

Features of The Academic Writing
The academic writing style encompasses a strict set of well-structured characteristics , rules and requirements to be followed when writing an Academic paper. Respecting its key features will further help you elaborating an exquisite and persuasive piece of work . The ordinary writing, the one that we write for fun, strives to delight the reader. The Academic writing is supposed to be dry yet smart , clear yet complex. As far as the academic writing is concerned some of the main features to be pointed out are as follows:
The structure and paragraphing of an academic writing are first to be mentioned . The basic rule is for your work to have an introduction , body and conclusion. All of the above should have a fitting connection one with the other as well as with the title. The three main components are separated into paragraphs whereas each paragraph should reveal one single idea. Furthermore the topic sentence used at the beginning of each paragraph conveys an argument that is to be explained and proven within the entire paragraph. The supporting sentences come to sustain and confirm the topic sentences and as a final result to form a concluding sentence.
Secondly, when writing , it is very important to use language that fits the audience and matches the aim of the academic work written. An inappropriate use of language can be proven to be crucial for your work and barely inacceptable. Slang and idiomatic expressions are to be avoided by one who writes in academic style. Amongst the forbidden areas is the biased language so the writer has to exclude language with a racial, ethnic , group or gender bias. Thus one of the keys to a successful writing is a fitting vocabulary. Knowing the purpose of your work and the audience you’re presenting it to will help picking the right language to be used.
Thirdly , there is no room for emotive language in an academic work. One cannot use emotionally colored words and expressions for approaching a point. The language should imply a considerable degree of formality with zero emotivity. Moreover the academic style doesn’t allow the use of questions .The author depicts a certain topic giving a list of arguments and there are no questions and no answers just a clear point he struggles to make.
Finally, the writer has to take into consideration all of the above mentioned .In addition to that there are many other important features that have to stick together as one and produce a successful piece of academic writing.

Features of academic writing: 3 комментария

  1. Dear Marcela,

    You have done a good job! Anyway, I have noticed some mistakes:
    1) you??? as Mrs.Condrat like to ask: to whom are you addressing?
    2) you began with you, you used even we then[the one we write for fun] and then you used the writer. It’s a mistake,you the writer.
    3) why did you decide to mention fisrtly structure and paragraphing? Are they more important than other features? At our conference we spoke about order of importance.
    4)the use of language that you described is the use of formal vocabulary.

    Marcela, I like your essay! I like your manner of writing! You write in a special way so that it is that this is Marcela’s style! So academically done! I like the words you have used, yet they are complicated for me, I don’t know why! Bravo Marcela!
    Good luck! Enjoy the week-end!

    Best wishes,
    Alina

    Нравится

    1. Dear Alina,thank you for reading my essay. I do agree with the things you’ve mentioned. I have no idea why and how I’ve used «you» ’cause I tried so hard not to. I now we’re not allowed to use it.I’ve read the paper a few times, and I’ve missed the use of «you». About the features mentioned, as I was the only «lucky» student that had to go everyday to the school and do the french teacher’s lessons from the morning till late afternoon,I didn’t attend the last 2 conferences. I didn’t know which planet I was living on. Now that I’m not a slave anymore I won’t skip them .
      Have a beautiful day! See you tomorrow.

      Нравится

      1. OMG Marcela! You are probably very tired now! Anyway, I know that you a smart student and a hard-working person that’s why you will succeed! Good Luck to you my dear!!!

        Sincerely yours,
        Alina

        Нравится

Оставьте комментарий